

Legislative Council General Purpose Standing Committee No. 1

Inquiry into the Gentrader Transactions

General Purpose Standing Committee No. 1 today resolved that, pursuant to sections 7-9 of the *Parliamentary Evidence Act 1901*, the Committee does not consider that the following individuals have just cause or reasonable excuse for their failure to answer their summonses to appear before the Committee:

- Mr John Dermody, Director, Delta Electricity
- Mr James Henness, former Chief Executive and Director, Delta Electricity
- Mr Michael Knight AO, former Director, Delta Electricity
- Mr Paul Forward, former Director, Delta Electricity
- Mr Loftus Harris, former Director, Delta Electricity
- Mr Ross Bunyon AM, former Chairman, Eraring Energy
- Mr Tony Maher, former Director, Eraring Energy.

The Committee has therefore written to the President of the Legislative Council to request the President to certify these facts to a Judge of the Supreme Court, in order for warrants to be issued for the apprehension of these individuals to appear before the Committee on Wednesday 2 February 2011.

The Committee has not requested the President to take any action in relation to Ms Sandra Moait, former Director, Delta Electricity, as Ms Moait is outside of the jurisdiction of New South Wales for the duration of the Committee's hearings.

The Committee also resolved to issue new summonses to Mr Michael Vertigan AC and Mr Dean Pritchard, former directors of Eraring Energy, to attend the hearing on Wednesday 2 February 2011, as they had not been served with their previous summonses due to being outside of the jurisdiction.

In regard to the Committee's order for papers, the Department of Premier and Cabinet provided some documents on Tuesday 25 January 2011, however it did not provide many of the documents requested by the Committee. The Committee today resolved to write to the Department to request that all privileged documents, and an index of those documents, be provided by 31 January 2011.

The Committee has extended the reporting date for the Inquiry to Friday 18 February 2011.

Further information about the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee Secretariat on (02) 9230 3504 or via the Committee's website at: www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/gpsc1.

For comment please contact Revd the Hon Fred Nile, Committee Chairman on 9230 3338