

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY AND WORKS COMMITTEE

## MEDIA RELEASE

## UPCOMING HEARINGS FOR THE INQUIRY INTO THE WESTERN SYDNEY SCIENCE PARK AND AEROTROPOLIS DEVELOPMENTS

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 25 October 2024

Another public hearing for the inquiry into the impacts of the Sydney Science Park and Western Sydney Aerotropolis developments will take place at Parliament House on Thursday 31 October 2024.

The committee will hear from a number of witnesses, including NSW Government agencies, Penrith City Council, and former members of Parliament. Representatives from Celestino, the developer of the Sydney Science Park, will also be giving evidence to the committee.

The committee Chair, Ms Abigail Boyd MLC, said: "The committee is examining the impacts of these two developments and is particularly interested in understanding how the projects affect broader land use, public works, employment, environment and transport in the area. Given that these projects are significant to Western Sydney, the committee wants to explore the progress of the projects, in conjunction with the current timeline for delivery'.

The Chair continued: 'The committee has visited both the Sydney Science Park and Aerotropolis sites, and has seen the scale and complexity of developments associated with these projects. Hearing from key stakeholders, including the government agencies involved in the planning and development of infrastructure in Western Sydney, will assist the committee in its inquiry, and help to capture lessons for future government policy'.

The public hearing will take place at Parliament House, Sydney in the Macquarie Room and will be livestreamed on the Parliament's website:

https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/committees/inquiries/Pages/inquiry-details.aspx?pk=3063#tabmembers.

Further information about the inquiry, including the terms of reference and hearing schedules, are available on the inquiry webpage:

https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/committees/inquiries/Pages/inquiry-details.aspx?pk=3063#tab-termsofreference.

-ENDS-

For further information please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Abigail Boyd MLC, on 9230 3676.