

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 5 – JUSTICE AND COMMUNITIES

Inquiry into antisemitism in New South Wales

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 5 Justice and Communities inquire into and report on antisemitism in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the causes underlying the increasing prevalence and severity of antisemitic incidents across the state
 - (b) record levels of antisemitism on university campuses and in schools undermining student safety
 - (c) the threat to social cohesion in New South Wales presented by antisemitism
 - (d) how community safety might be enhanced, on behalf of the Jewish community of New South Wales
 - (e) ways to improve security arrangements around synagogues
 - (f) arrangements to protect individuals from the practice of "doxing"
 - (g) privacy arrangements around public information that may identify an individual or their address, such as land title records and electoral roll information, and
 - (h) the role of the Sydney Jewish Museum in providing Holocaust education for students.
- 2. That the committee report by 1 September 2025.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 12 February 2025.¹

Committee membership

Hon Robert Borsak MLC Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party Chair Dr Amanda Cohn MLC* The Greens Deputy Chair Hon Greg Donnelly MLC Australian Labor Party Hon Scott Farlow MLC* Liberal Party Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC Australian Labor Party Hon Cameron Murphy MLC Australian Labor Party Hon Chris Rath MLC* Liberal Party

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 12 February 2025, item 26.

- * Dr Amanda Cohn MLC substituted for Ms Sue Higginson MLC from 17 February 2025 for the duration of the inquiry.
- * The Hon Nichole Overall MLC replaced the Hon Scott Barrett MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 18 February 2025. The Hon Chris Rath MLC substituted for Hon Nichole Overall MLC from 19 February 2025 for the duration of the inquiry.
- * Hon Scott Farlow MLC substituted for the Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC from 19 February 2025 for the duration of the inquiry.