PRIVILEGES COMMITTEE

Inquiry into possible contempt arising from the inquiry into the proposal to develop Rosehill Racecourse

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- (1) That the Special Report and recommendation of the Select Committee on the Proposal to Develop Rosehill Racecourse be referred to the Privileges Committee for inquiry and report.
 - The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 25 September 2024¹.
- (2) That the unauthorised disclosure of the draft minutes of the meeting of the Select Committee on the Proposal to Develop Rosehill Racecourse on Friday 29 November 2024 be referred to the Privileges Committee, and that the following matters be investigated as part of the existing inquiry in relation to a possible contempt arising from the Select Committee inquiry:
 - (a) whether the Privileges Committee's unauthorised disclosure guidelines have been breached on this occasion,
 - (b) whether the guidelines remain fit for purpose, and
 - (c) any other related matter concerning this unauthorised disclosure.

The additional terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the President on 6 December 2024.²

Committee membership

Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC	Australian Labor Party	Chair
Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Greg Donnelly MLC ³	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	
Ms Sue Higginson MLC	The Greens	
Hon Cameron Murphy MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Rod Roberts MLC	Independent	
Hon Emily Suvaal MLC ⁴	Australian Labor Party	
		•

¹ Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 25 September 2024, pp 1563-1564.

² Correspondence from the Hon Ben Franklin MLC, President, NSW Legislative Council, to the Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC, Chair, Privileges Committee, referring the unauthorised disclosure of confidential information of the Select Committee to the Privileges Committee as part of its inquiry into a possible contempt under paragraph 3(a) of the resolution establishing the Privileges Committee, 6 December 2024.

³ The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC substituted for the Hon Bob Nanva from 6 February 2025 for the duration of the inquiry.

⁴ The Hon Emily Suvaal MLC substituted for the Hon Peter Primrose MLC from 5 February 2025 for the duration of the inquiry.