

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL ISSUES

## Inquiry into the impacts of harmful pornography on mental, emotional, and physical health

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

That the Standing Committee on Social Issues inquire into the impacts of harmful pornography on mental, emotional, and physical health, with particular reference to:

- (a) age of first exposure to pornography and impacts of early exposure to pornography
- (b) media by which pornography is accessed and circulated
- (c) impacts on body image
- (d) the relationship between pornography use and respect and consent education
- (e) the production and dissemination of pornography, including deepfake or Al-generated pornography
- (f) the impact of exposure to violent and/or misogynistic pornography on children, teenagers and young adults
- (g) impacts on minority groups including but not limited to First Nations, CALD or LGBTIQA+ people and people living with disability
- (h) the effectiveness of any current education programs about use and misuse of pornography, and how these may be improved
- (i) the effectiveness of current restrictions on access to pornography and consideration of any need to improve these
- (j) the resources and support currently available to parents and carers to educate children about pornography, and how these might be improved; and
- (k) any other related matters.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Hon Michael Daley, Attorney General, on 2 August 2024, and adopted by the committee on 6 August 2024.

Committee membership

Hon Dr Sarah Kaine MLC	Australian Labor Party	Chair
Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
Hon Susan Carter MLC*	Liberal Party	
Dr Amanda Cohn	The Greens	
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Bob Nanva MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Emily Suvaal MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Taylor Martin MLC*	Independent	

\* The Hon Susan Carter MLC substituted for the Hon Rachel Merton MLC from 7 August 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.

\* The Hon Taylor Martin MLC replaced the Hon Jeremy Buckingham MLC as substantive member of the committee from 24 September 2024.<sup>1</sup>

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 24 September 2024, p 1548.