

## PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 6 – TRANSPORT AND THE ARTS

## Inquiry into the use of e-scooters, e-bikes and related mobility options

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

That Portfolio Committee No. 6 - Transport and the Arts inquire into and report on the use of e-scooters, e-bikes (including shared schemes), related mobility options, and in particular:

- (a) the current and anticipated role of all three levels of government in enabling and encouraging safe electrified active transport options
- (b) opportunities to reform the regulatory framework to achieve better and safe outcomes for riders and the community
- (c) local council, industry and stakeholder perspectives on the utilisation and impact of e-mobility devices in the community
- (d) opportunities to improve mobility, the customer experience, safety for users and the community
- (e) the potential benefits and risks of existing regulatory and policy settings, including the *Roads Act 1993*, Road Rules and Road User Space Allocation Policy and other related legislation regarding safety, traffic, and personal convenience
- (f) the extent that e-mobility devices have positive community benefits such as encouraging mode shift, relieving congestion, addressing social disadvantage and tourism
- (g) opportunities across government to improve outcomes in regard to e-scooters, e-bikes, and related mobility options
- (h) best practice in other Australian and international jurisdictions
- (i) the economic analysis of e-mobility contribution to safe transport at night for shift workers and women, to mode shift and to first and last mile transport, and
- (j) any other related matters.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 6 June 2024.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 6 June 2024, pp 1230-1231.

## Committee membership

Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Sam Farraway MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Dr Sarah Kaine MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Bob Nanva MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Natalie Ward MLC	Liberal Party	