

STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE DEVELOPMENT

Inquiry into beneficial and productive post-mining land use

TERMS OF REFERENCE

That the Standing Committee on State Development inquire into and report on beneficial and productive post-mining land use, and in particular:

- (a) the benefits of having multiple successive land uses including the positive benefits for local communities and the economy, business, industry, and the broader state
- (b) changes in land use potential and demand in established or traditional mining areas, particularly those generated by the decarbonised economy, renewable technology, manufacturing, defence, skills, and training
- (c) opportunities for investment and growth in training and skills in established or traditional mining areas, including:
 - (i) the need to reskill and or retrain current workforces
 - (ii) the impact and effectiveness of existing and new education, training, and skills providers for mining communities
- (d) opportunities to encourage innovative post-mining land uses including:
 - (i) the planning and implementation of essential supporting infrastructure for future site use
 - (ii) the development of solar farms, pumped hydro, and other clean energy industries
 - (iii) the compatibility of post mining land sites with commercial projects
 - (iv) the potential of unlocking surrounding land for residential dwellings, amenities, environmental and educational facilities
 - (v) potential exploration of former and legacy mining sites with modern mining technology to explore deposits in tailings and closed sites
 - (vi) the development of sites for use for advanced manufacturing, commercial and industrial use
- (e) how to ensure the benefit from innovative post mine land uses are shared between the community and mine operators
- (f) the expectations of mining communities in relation to post-mine land use, and how to balance this with innovative reuse of existing infrastructure

- (g) the need to develop a robust independent regulatory framework to maintain and advance best practice in this area, and
- (h) any other related matters.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Hon Courtney Houssos MP, Minister for Finance, Minister for Domestic Manufacturing and Government Procurement, Minister for Natural Resources on 3 May 2024 and adopted by the committee on 14 May 2024.

Committee membership

Hon Emily Suvaal MLC	Australian Labor Party	Chair
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC*	The Greens	
Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Wes Fang MLC*	The Nationals	
Hon Scott Farlow MLC	Liberal Party	
Ms Sue Higginson MLC*	The Greens	
Hon Emma Hurst MLC	Animal Justice Party	
Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Peter Primrose MLC	Australian Labor Party	

^{*} Ms Sue Higginson MLC substituted for Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC from 30 May 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.

^{*} Ms Abigail Boyd MLC is a participating member from 19 July 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.

^{*} Hon Wes Fang MLC substituted for Hon Sam Farraway MLC from 1 August 2024 for the duration of the inquiry. The Hon Wes Fang MLC replaced the Hon Sam Farraway MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 11 December 2024.