

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 4 – REGIONAL NSW

2023 Inquiry into the operation of the approved charitable organisations under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1979

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 4 Regional NSW annually inquire into and report on the operation of the charitable organisations approved under s 34B of the *Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1979*, and in particular:
 - (a) the matters contained in the annual reports of the approved charitable organisations, including their financial statements
 - (b) the exercise by the approved charitable organisations of their compliance and enforcement functions under the *Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1979*
 - (c) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee commence its annual inquiry following the publication of the annual reports of the approved charitable organisations and report by the end of the financial year.¹

The terms of reference for the inquiry were self-referred by the committee on 9 June 2023.²

Committee membership

Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Chair
Hon Emma Hurst MLC	Animal Justice Party	Deputy Chair
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC*	The Greens	
Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC*	Liberal Party	
Hon Wes Fang MLC*	The Nationals	
Hon Emily Suvaal MLC*	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Peter Primrose MLC	Australian Labor Party	

The original reporting date was by the end of the financial year (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 20 June 2023, p 188). For the 2023 inquiry, the reporting date was later extended to 30 September 2024.

² Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 20 June 2023, p 188.

For the 2023 inquiry, the reporting date was further extended to 30 November 2024 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 6 August 2024, p 1352).

- * Ms Abigail Boyd MLC is a participating member from 15 December 2023 for the duration of the inquiry.
- * The Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC replaced the Hon Taylor Martin MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 8 May 2024.
- * The Hon Wes Fang MLC substituted for the Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC from 6 May 2024.
- * The Hon Emily Suvaal MLC substituted for the Hon Cameron Murphy MLC from 7 August 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.