

## SELECT COMMITTEE ON FOUNDATIONAL AND DISABILITY SUPPORTS AVAILABLE FOR CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE IN NEW SOUTH WALES

- (1) That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on child development, early childhood intervention services and other foundational and disability supports available for children and young people with developmental concerns, delays, differences or disabilities in New South Wales, and in particular:
  - (a) the role of such services and supports on a child's overall development, health and wellbeing,
  - (b) the types of services and supports available and measures to improve effectiveness, availability and access of such services and supports in metropolitan, regional, rural and remote New South Wales, including medical, community-nursing, allied health services, NDIS services and other service delivery models,
  - (c) the role of diagnostic services, existing gaps and barriers, and measures to improve effectiveness, availability and access of such services,
  - (d) gaps and barriers to accessing early childhood intervention and their impact on a child's overall development, health and wellbeing, as well as on their family or carers and other government services and systems,
  - (e) opportunities to increase engagement across sectors and improved collaboration across both government and non-government services, including Aboriginal Community Controlled Organisations, early learning services, educational settings and health services,
  - (f) other government or best practice child development and early childhood intervention service models and programs operating outside of New South Wales,
  - (g) workforce issues in the child development and early childhood intervention sectors, including workforce demand and the availability, quality and capacity of existing workers, and
  - (h) measures to implement recommendations of the NDIS Review Final Report and the Disability Royal Commission Final Report in relation to foundational supports, and
  - (i) any other related matter.
- (2) That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders, the committee consist of seven members comprising:
  - (a) three government members,
  - (b) two opposition members, one being Mrs Maclaren-Jones, and
  - (c) two crossbench members, one being Ms Boyd.

- (3) That the Chair of the committee be Mrs Maclaren-Jones and the Deputy Chair be Ms Boyd.
- (4) That, unless the committee decides otherwise:
  - (a) all inquiries are to be advertised via social media, stakeholder emails and a media release distributed to all media outlets in New South Wales,
  - (b) submissions to inquiries are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration,
  - (c) attachments to submissions are to remain confidential,
  - (d) the Chair's proposed witness list is to be circulated to provide members with an opportunity to amend the list, with the witness list agreed to by email, unless a member requests the Chair to convene a meeting to resolve any disagreement,
  - (e) the sequence of questions to be asked at hearings alternate between Opposition, crossbench and Government members, in that order, with equal time allocated to each,
  - (f) transcripts of evidence taken at public hearings are to be published,
  - (g) supplementary questions are to be lodged with the Committee Clerk within two business days following the receipt of the hearing transcript, with witnesses requested to return answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions within 21 calendar days of the date on which questions are forwarded to the witness,
  - (h) answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration, and
  - (i) media statements on behalf of the committee are to be made only by the Chair.

[Resolved 23 October 2024, Minutes No 78, Item 21]