

## JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NET ZERO FUTURE

- (1) That a joint standing committee be established to inquire into and report on Net Zero Future, in particular:
  - (a) to monitor and review the exercise of the Net Zero Commission's functions under the *Climate Change (Net Zero Future) Act 2023*,
  - (b) to examine each annual report, and other reports of the Net Zero Commission as the Committee sees fit and to report to both Houses of Parliament on any matter appearing in or arising out of, any such report,
  - (c) to inquire into any question in connection with the Committee's functions which is referred to it by both Houses of Parliament and to report to both Houses on that question, and
  - (d) any other related matters.
- (2) That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders of either House, the committee consist of 12 members comprising:
  - (a) five members of the Legislative Assembly, and
  - (b) seven members of the Legislative Council, of whom
    - (i) three are government members, being Mr Cameron Murphy, Ms Emily Suvaal and Mr Mark Buttigieg,
    - (ii) four are non-government members, being Mr Wes Fang, Ms Jacqui Munro, Ms Susan Higginson and Mr Jeremy Buckingham.
- (3) That the Chair of the committee be Mr Jeremy Buckingham and that the Deputy Chair be appointed by the Legislative Assembly.
- (4) That, notwithstanding anything in the standing orders of either House, at any meeting of the committee, any seven members of the committee will constitute a quorum, provided that at least one member of each House is present at all times.
- (5) The committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the New South Wales and elsewhere in Australia.
- (6) That, unless the committee decides otherwise:
  - (a) all inquiries are to be advertised via social media, stakeholder emails and a media release distributed to all media outlets in New South Wales,

- (b) submissions to inquiries are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration,
- (c) attachments to submissions are to remain confidential,
- (d) the Chair's proposed witness list is to be circulated to provide members with an opportunity to amend the list, with the witness list agreed to by email, unless a member requests the Chair to convene a meeting to resolve any disagreement,
- (e) the sequence of questions to be asked at hearings alternate between opposition, crossbench and Government members, in that order, with equal time allocated to each,
- (f) transcripts of evidence taken at public hearings are to be published,
- (g) supplementary questions are to be lodged with the Committee Clerk within two business days following the receipt of the hearing transcript, with witnesses requested to return answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions within 21 calendar days of the date on which questions are forwarded to the witness,
- (h) answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration, and
- (i) media statements on behalf of the committee are to be made only by the Chair.
- (7) That a message be sent acquainting the Legislative Assembly with the resolution and requesting the Legislative Assembly appoint five of its members to serve on the committee including appointing a Deputy Chair.

[Resolved 20 June 2024, LC Minutes No 60, Item 5]

[\* The Legislative Assembly appointed its members to the committee on 20 June 2024, LA Votes and Proceedings No 60, Item 29]