## 10 SELECT COMMITTEE ON ESSENTIAL WORKER HOUSING

Mr Ron Hoenig moved, That:

- (1) That a Select Committee to be known as the Legislative Assembly Select Committee on Essential Worker Housing be appointed.
- (2) That the Committee inquire into and report on options for essential worker housing in New South Wales, specifically:
  - (1) Establishing an appropriate definition for essential worker housing for the NSW Government to adopt including criteria for prioritising worker cohorts and geographical areas.
  - (2) Identify options to increase housing supply for essential workers, including but not limited to:
    - (a) planning tools and reforms
    - (b) incentives for developments on privately owned land
    - (c) opportunities within developments on government owned land
    - (d) investigate reforms that promote fiscal sustainability, innovation and essential worker housing in-perpetuity
    - (e) other related matters.
  - (3) The Committee shall consist of five members, comprising:
    - (a) three government members, being Mr Stephen Bali, Mrs Sally Quinnell and Ms Liza Butler.
    - (b) one opposition member.
    - (c) one crossbench member, being Mr Alex Greenwich.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Thursday 16 May 2024

- (4) That the opposition member be nominated in writing by the Opposition Whip to the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly by 23 May 2024.
- (5) Mr Alex Greenwich shall be the Chair of the Committee.
- (6) The Committee have leave to sit during the sitting or any adjournment of the House.
- (7) The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the state of New South Wales and other states and territories of Australia.
- (8) The Committee shall report by 7 March 2025.

Question put and passed.